Riverina riders have enjoyed action packed and exciting racing over the years, with most years coming down to a sprint to the line in the final race to determine the overall Champion.

The focus is on capturing the theme of a Grand Tour but with a couple of twists. This tour consists entirely of handicap races giving every entrant a real chance of contesting the General Classification, and instead of pitching teams against teams we are pitching the five clubs of the Riverina against each other to see which club can take out the coveted Barry O’Hagan Club Trophy. 

So who is going to be the 2016 Champion and which club is the strongest in the Riverina?

The Riverina Point Score (10 years as TDR) is now going into it’s thirteenth year. The Series was bought about by the five clubs in the Riverina wanting to bring some consistence to handicapping and  provide some motivation and recognition for riders that supported the series of  races.

The Point Score has proven to be a very popular series which typically see a couple of hundred riders compete each year. One of the great things about the TDR is that it provides a great stepping stone for riders that wish to step up from club races and shop rides but may not yet be ready to compete in State Opens. The Riverina Point Score has been instrumental in developing riders such as:

Ashley Humbert:      Baby Giro stage winner
Richard Moffat:        World U/19 TT representative
David McPartland:  National Criterium Champion
Michael Mathews:   World U23 champion, Giro &  Vuelta stage winner etc.
Rhys Pollock:             Sun Tour stage winner, Melbourne to Warrnambool winner, Tour de Taiwan winner
Rebecca Wiasak:     Individual Pursuit World Champion
Emma Mackie:          National Criterium Champion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *