2015 Dean Carter Memorial Results

2015 Dean Carter Memorial Results
1. Daniel J Addison
2. Charlie Mitchell
3. Jake Brooker
4. Terry Halpin
5. Will Silver
6. Sophie Mackay
7. Mitch Harrison
8. Richard Argent Smith
9. Damian Giason
10. Ryan Knight

Fastest Time: Peter Treloar
First Female: Sophie Mackay
Sprint: Leanne Kennedy

Stage 1 TDR –- Bendigo Bank Narrandera Road Cycle Classic (Part of the Narrandera Rush)


The 2015 race season kicked off in Narrandera with two events which are part of the Riverina Rush sporting festival. On the Saturday there was a criterium in the main street of Narrandera.  I can’t believe that race numbers were down as the Narbugs hosted a fabulous event. All those that raced sang the praises of the circuit, the organisation and the welcome given by the organisers and volunteers.  The main race was a hot contest on a hot night. There was a great tussle between Aaron Moffat, Chris Powell, Rohan Christmas and Angus McCeachern. In the dying stages of the criterium Aaron’ chances were dashed by a seized shift lifter and 2014 winner Chris stormed to victory whilst Jake Brooker and Anthony Sleeman who had both kept their powder keg’s dry filled the podium.


Riders were greeted with a cooler day on the Saturday and they must have been keen as each and every bunch stormed off with the tailwind at a rapid rate of knots collecting bags of STRAVA medals as they went. All bunches managed to clear the feared KOM hill before being reeled in by the scratch bunch. Before hitting the home stretch there was just one massive bunch of riders, but this status was destined only be a short lived affair. As the bunch turned onto the home stretch the scratch riders put the hammer down putting the bunch into the gutter in what had just become a crosswind. The action was short lived but it proved catastrophic for all but around 15 riders who made the cut. From then on the race was more like a scratch race with the occasional attempt to put everyone into the gutter but usually a lot of sitting on. The sprint became another TDR text book affair with Peter Treloar taking the win (and fastest time and first local and first Propel rider and first……).Second was the eternal bridesmaid Chris Powell who, rumour has, it will be wearing taffeta at the race 😉


The next race in the series is the Dean Carter Memorial which is at Griffith this weekend quickly followed by Cootamundra Cycling Club’s race at Stockinbingal Fair. Griffith CC is renowned for their hospitality and the Stockinbingal Fair has plenty to offer for those with young kids including:

* Horse events

* Over 80 stalls are booked

* Heaps of great food from BBQ to wood fired pizzas and everything in between

* The usual fun family events eg races, pets on parade

* Rides !! buy an armband and ride for the day.

* The fashion parade

* Bollywood dancers

* Dog obedience display and so much more…


So get your entries in now and enjoy what is probably the best interclub race in NSW.


CRITERIUM RESULTS                                                                                       

A Grade

  1. Chris Powell
  2. Jake Brooker
  3. Anthony Sleeman

B Grade

  1. Daniel Addison
  2. Charlie Mitchell
  3. 3. Rohan Christmas


C Grade

  1. Troy Brooker
  2. ??? Shepparton Rider


  1. Beth Rees
  2. Jane McNamara


TDR Stage 1 Results 1. Peter Treloar 2. Chris Powell 3. Charlie Hamilton 4. Malcolm Blake 5. Craig McMillan 6. Aaron Moffatt 7. Ken Payne 8. Darren Russell 9. Rohan Christmas 10. Anthony Sleeman

First Female: Beth Rees Fastest Time, 1st Local: Peter Treloar KOM: Bronwyn Jones