Stage 5 – 60km Dean Carter Memorial – Griffith

The next Stage of the Tour de Riverina is going to be critical in determining this year’s winner of the Tour de Riverina. Looking at the General Classification we have Charlie Westerman out in front of Ashley Rod, Troy Pietch and Myles Stewart by 7 points. Not far behind these riders there are another ten or so riders who are still in with an excellent chance of taking out the Tour de Riverina.  Even if you aren’t in contention for the title it is well worth the trip to Griffith to experience the hospitality of the Griffith Cycling Club. Whilst in Griffith you may also like to do some reconnaissance for the upcoming The NSW Masters Road Championships which is being held in Griffith in late September.

For this year’s Dean Carter Memorial there has been one minor change. The registration has been moved to the Griffith Tourist Information Centre. If you know where the plane on a jet on a stick is in Banna Avenue you know where the location is. The location of the presentation has also been moved with it now being held at the Griffith Ex-Servicemans Main Club which is just  opposite the Tourist Information Centre.

Sunday 4th May 2014

60km Dean Carter Memorial Hosted by Griffith CC (at Griffith) $750 (min) in Prize Money + Winners Jersey

•Registration @ Griffith Tourist Information Centre (The plane on a jet on a stick in Banna Avenue)
•Registration open from 9:00 am, collect numbers from 9:30 am
•Race Start @ 10:00 am at Beelbangera Park (approx 5km from Exies Club)
•Race Distance 60km (out & back circuit)
•Entry Fee $20 to the club & $5 to the Riverina Prize Pool ($25).
•Presentation @ Griffith Ex-Servicemans Main  Club (Opposite Tourist Information Centre)

Jason Minato : Day (02) 6964 3620 After Hours: 0412 814 060

Geoff Dixon Memorial Race report

John Styles (Lavington Panthers) has won the 2014 Geoff Dixon Memorial in a bunch sprint consisting of 30 riders from the front three bunches in the race. John’s bunch flew around the course picking up second limit couple kilometres before end of the first lap of the 30km course. Then they caught limit just after the KOM/QOM sprint point – which was taken by newbie Stephanie Terrill – they were never headed from there.

John had to dig deep to make it over the last climb a few kilometres from home, but the master track champion prove no match for bunch of skinny roadies in the bunch kick. Rob Gray (Wagga Wagga) took third with Indiana Michel rounding out the podium. The back markers arrive a few minutes later with Peter Treloar (Tolland) taking fastest time by a mere tyre width.

Thanks to everyone who made the trip to Chiltern for today’s race. Special thanks to the hard working race committee, marshals, lead car drivers, traffic controllers, sign-on table workers and commissaires. We couldn’t do it without you guys.

1st Johnathon Styles
2nd Rob Gray
3rd Indiana Michel
4th Stanley Thomson
5th Adrian Hamilton
6th Michael Coles
7th Adam Farugia
8th Adam Cartwright
9th Ryan Clifford
10th Myles Stewart

Fastest time: Peter Treloar
First female: Lisa Barry

First unplaced local: Michael Coles
First under 19: Miles Stuart (Thanks for the Dixon for family who sponsored this prize)
QOM/KOM: Stephanie Terrill